60th Washington State Men's Best-Ball Championship and 23rd Senior Men's Best-Ball Championship Being Held at Salish Cliffs

Salish Cliffs Golf Club in Shelton, Wash. is the venue this week for the 60th Washington State Men’s Best-Ball and 23rd Senior Men’s Best-Ball. The two championships are being held concurrently and are conducted by the Washington State Golf Association (WSGA).

Men's Best-Ball
Salish Cliffs, #17

The 36-hole championships are being competed over two days with starting times off the No. 1 and No. 10 tees. The two championships will see a combined field of 100 two-man teams competing in a four-ball stroke play format.

For daily updates on scoring, starting times, and more, please visit this page. Follow WSGA Championships on Twitter for live updates at @WSGAChampions, and use the hashtag #WSGAMensBestBall to stay connected.

Last year’s champions in both events are back in 2016 to defend their titles. In the men’s championship, Tyler Matthews and Matthew Steele, both of Bellevue, Wash., will be trying for a three-peat, having won the championship in 2014 and 2015. In the senior championship, Chris DeGrazia of Lynnwood, Wash. and Mike Hickok of Kirkland, Wash. will be trying for their third title, having won in 2013 and 2015; the duo also won the men’s title in 2009.

The Washington State Men’s Best-Ball Championship was previously known as the Inglewood Best-Ball from 1956 until 1993, when in 1994 the WSGA began to run the event and introduced the Senior Men’s Best-Ball.

Other notable names in the men’s championship are 2013 champions Chris Bae of Issaquah, Wash. and Craig Larson of Tacoma, Wash.; and 2008 champions Matt Remington and Brian Remington, both of Seattle.

In the Senior Men’s Championship, notables include Bruce Richards of Seattle. A member of the PNGA Hall of Fame, Richards has won the senior title an impressive five times with partner Dr. Jack Lamey of Bellevue. This year, Richards has teamed with Roger Nelson of Bellevue. Also in the field are 2005 champions Jeff Remington of Edmonds and Mick Remington of Sammamish, Wash.; and 2014 champions Duane Diede of Everett and John Von Lossow of Kirkland.