Date: August 27, 2020 — August 28, 2020

Course: McCormick Woods Golf Club, Port Orchard, WA

Championship Details

Lodging: WA Golf has negotiated discounted hotel rates for tournament players and guests.

To book a hotel reservation, please use the following link – HOTEL RESERVATIONS. You will be prompted to login or create an account using your GHIN #. Once logged in, click on “TOURNAMENT HOTELS” which will allow you to search hotels by proximity to the course at a large discount. 

Entry Fee: $195

Entry Includes: One hosted practice round, two rounds of competition, tee gifts, range balls, lunch following second round play, crystal awards for top finishers and a merchandise payout.

Entry Deadline: August 10, 2020 at 4:30 p.m.

Eligibility: Entries are open to male amateur golfers who: (1) will have reached their twenty-fifth birthday by August 27, 2020, (2) have an up-to-date USGA Handicap Index issued by a WA Golf member club not exceeding 9.9, and (3) are members in good standing of a WA Golf member club.

Age: Players must have reached their twenty-fifth birthday by August 27, 2020

Field Limit: Field will be limited to the first 120 qualified players. Entries will be accepted according to the time of receipt of entry and entry fee in addition to exempt players.

Schedule: 36-hole stroke play (gross only). In the event of a tie, the winner will be decided immediately by a hole-by-hole playoff.

Practice Round: All players will be allowed one complimentary practice round prior to the championship.

Caddies: A player may provide his own caddie. Host club caddies will not be available.

Carts: Players and caddies may ride in a golf cart. Cart fees are $20 per seat/day. Fees will be collected during registration.

Exempt Players: All past Washington Men’s Mid-Amateur Champions in addition to the following players: Austin Beatty, Tom Brandes, Michael Ciez, Justin Haines, David Hansen, Erik Hanson, Reid Hatley, David Hunter, Jacob Koppenberg, Jon McCaslin, Darren Slackman, Roger Thorn.

WA Golf Performance Points: Awarded to Champion (75), Runner-up (50), Top-5 (25), Top-10 (15), and Top-15 (5) finishers

Exemptions: Champion earns an exemption into the following events:

  • Lifetime exemption into the Washington Men’s Mid-Amateur Championship
  • 2021 Washington Champion of Champions
  • 2021 Pacific Northwest Men’s Mid-Amateur Championship

Past Champions

Year Location Champion
2019 Mill Creek Country Club Erik Hanson
2018 Suncadia Resort - Rope Rider Reid Hatley
2017 Wine Valley Golf Club Michael Ciez
2016 Gamble Sands Reid Hatley
2015 Fairwood Golf and Country Club Tom Brandes
2014 Oakbrook Golf Club Tom Hale
2013 Suncadia Resort - Rope Rider Bjorn Bjorke
2012 Moses Lake Golf Club Tom Brandes
2011 Loomis Trail Golf Club Stephen Lee
2010 Wine Valley Golf Club Mike Haack