championship header image
Chris Bae (l) and Craig Larson, Men’s Best-Ball Champions

Kent, Wash. – Chris Bae of Issaquah, Wash. and Craig Larson of Tacoma, Wash. won the 57th WSGA Men’s Best-Ball by two strokes with a two-day total of 14-under par 130. They maintained their lead going into today’s final round after sharing the round one lead at 7-under par with Gino Bonnalie and Brian King, both of Lewiston, Idaho. The two teams were paired together in the today’s featured foursome.

Bae and Larson carded consistent back-to-back rounds of 7-under par 65. “Our goal was to come out the last two days and try not to make any bogies and we knew we would have a good chance if we met that goal, and we managed to do it!” said Larson. The highlight of their round today came with four straight birdies on holes 6 through 9, in which Larson made three of those four birdies. “We play a lot of golf together and are good friends. We make a great team.” added Bae.

Finishing two strokes back was Tom Brandes of Bellevue, Wash. and Alex Stamey of Mill Creek, Wash. who made a huge charge carding the low round of the championship today with an impressive 10-under par 62 to finish the two-day championship at 12-under par.

Chris DeGrazia (l) and Mike Hickok, Senior Men’s Best-Ball Champions

Chris DeGrazia of Lynnwood, Wash. and Mike Hickok of Kirkland, Wash. won the 20th WSGA Senior Men’s Best-Ball by three strokes with a two-day total of 8-under par 136. They maintained their lead going into today’s final round. DeGrazia and Hickok shared the lead at 4-under par with Jeff Howell and Dan Thacker after the first round of play.

DeGrazia and Hickok are no strangers to being WSGA champions. In 2009 they were the WSGA Men’s Best-Ball Champions when it was hosted by White Horse GC in Kingston, Wash. “We were thrilled to win the WSGA Men’s Best-Ball in 2009 when we were in our early 50’s and now to come out the first year in the Senior Men’s Ball and win is something special” said Hickock. “We were teammates in college and are still great friends, so we know each other’s game well and play well as a team” added DeGrazia.

The format for the championship was a 36-hole Four-Ball stroke play (gross and net). This year, the popular championship comprised a full field of 89 teams.

For complete information and final results, please click here.