Kato, Hatley and Carlson selected for 2019 WSGA Morse Cup Team

Sean Kato of Redmond, Wash., Reid Hatley of Hayden Lake, Idaho and Chase Carlson of Puyallup, Wash. have been selected to represent the Washington State Golf Association at this year’s Morse Cup team competition, which will take place simultaneously with the 53rd Pacific Coast Amateur Championship held at the Championship Course at the University of New Mexico in Albuquerque.

Team WSGA – Sean Kato, Chase Carlson, and Reid Hatley

The 2019 Pacific Coast Amateur will be held July 23-26, with the Morse Cup competition taking place during the first two days of the 72-hole competition. Two of the top three scores from each team in rounds one and two will count for the Morse Cup portion of the event.


Meet the team:

Sean Kato

Redmond, Wash. – Oregon State University

  • 2019 Pac-12 Conference All-Freshman Team
  • Quarterfinals – 2019 Pacific Northwest Men’s Amateur Championship
  • 3rd – 2019 Oregon Amateur Championship
    Champion – 2017 AJGA Ryan Moore Junior Championship
  • Champion – 2017 WJGA State Championship
  • Runner-Up – 2016 Pacific Northwest Junior Boy’s Amateur


Reid Hatley

Hayden Lake, Idaho – University of Arizona

  • 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 PNGA Mid-Am Player of the Year
  • 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018 WSGA Mid-Am Player of the Year
  • Champion – 2018 WSGA Men’s Mid-Amateur
  • Champion – 2018 PNGA Men’s Mid-Amateur
  • Champion – 2019 Oregon Open Invitational


Chase Carlson

Puyallup, Wash. – Colorado Christian University

  • 5th – 2019 Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Individual Championship
  • 3rd – 2019 NCAA Division II National Championship
  • Champion – 2019 NCAA Division II South Central/Western Regional
  • Champion – 2017 NCCAA (Christian College National Championship)
  • Champion – 2016 Washington State Men’s Amateur Championship


About the Pacific Coast Amateur Championship

The Pacific Coast Amateur Championship is one of the oldest and most prestigious amateur golf championships in North America. The first championship was held on the links of San Francisco Golf Club at The Presidio in 1901. After being played until 1911, The Pacific Coast Amateur then ceased to exist, only to be reconstituted at Seattle Golf Club in 1967. Today, 15 member Pacific Rim golf associations comprise the Pacific Coast Golf Association.

Pacific Coast Golf Association
Pacific Coast Golf Association

Held on an annual basis since 1967, the Pacific Coast Amateur Championship boasts a rich history of showcasing some of the most talented golfers in the United States and Canada.

Past champions of the Pacific Coast Amateur who have gone on to successful professional careers include PGA Tour winners Billy Mayfair (1987, 1988), Jason Gore (1997) and Ben Crane (1998) as well as Web.com Tour winners and brothers Michael Putnam (2004) and Andrew Putnam (2010).

For more information on the championship, visit www.pacificcoastamateur.com.