Rules Question of the Week – August 18, 2020

In stroke play, a player practices putting on the 18th putting green immediately after finishing the first round of a 54-hole event scheduled over consecutive days on a single course. What is the ruling?

  1. There is no penalty (CORRECT)
  2. The player is disqualified
  3. The Committee should modify the disqualification penalty to two strokes

Explanation: Rule 5.2a

Have a specific rules question? Email [email protected] and our Rules & Competition Department will answer your question or visit the USGA site for more rules information.