Rules Question of the Week - Week of April 29, 2020

Question: Tanner is on the putting green, marks his ball with a coin behind where it lies, lifts the ball and carelessly replaces it, about two inches away from the ball’s original spot. The player plays the ball. What is the ruling?

  1. 2 stroke penalty (CORRECT)
  2. 1 stroke penalty
  3. No penalty, as long as it’s close

Explanation: Rule 13.1b; Rule 14.2c; Rule 14.7

Have a specific rules question? Email [email protected] and our Rules & Competition Department will answer your question?