Rules Question of the Week - Week of June 16, 2020

In match play, Player A sweeps away debris in their line of play on the putting green, and does not press anything down. Player B thinks this is not allowed and asks for a ruling. What is the correct ruling?

  1. 1 penalty stroke
  2. General Penalty
  3. No penalty (CORRECT)

Explanation Rule 13.1c; Rule 15.1a

Have a specific rules question? Email [email protected] and our Rules & Competition Department will answer your question or visit the USGA site for more rules information.