Rules Question of the Week - Week of May 13, 2020

Question: Mary’s shot lands in the bunker and it takes her two shots to get out. Before she goes to hit her second shot, she rakes the area of the bunker where she played her first shot and other areas nearby to care for the course. What is the ruling?

  1. 2 stroke penalty
  2. Total penalty of four strokes
  3. No penalty (CORRECT)

Explanation: Rule 12.2b(3).

Have a specific rules question? Email [email protected] and our Rules & Competition Department will answer your question.