Rules Question of the Week - Week of May 20, 2020

Question: While searching for his tee shot in the penalty area, Gary accidentally kicks his own ball, then proceeds to take relief under 17.1, after he knocks his next shot on the green, he holes out in 2 more strokes, what is Gary’s score for the hole?

  1. Gary took a 6 for the hole
  2. Gary took a 5 for the hole (CORRECT)
  3. He’s disqualified

Explanation: Rule 7.4.


Have a specific rules question? Email championships@wagolf.org and our Rules & Competition Department will answer your question or visit the USGA site for more rules information.