USGA Conducts 2017 Annual Meeting

The 2017 USGA Annual Meeting & Service Awards Dinner was held in Washington, D.C. on Saturday, February 4. It was a day highlighted by the election of Diana Murphy as president for a second one-year term, the presentation of the Joe Dey Award and the recognition of all the Ike Grainger Award recipients.

Prior to the Annual Meeting proper there was a full day of interactive breakout sessions that included the following topics:

USGA President Diana M. Murphy was elected for a second term during the USGA Annual Meeting on February 4 in Washington, D.C. (USGA/Chris Keane)
  • Modernizing Golf’s Rules – Discussion surrounded some of the process and reason behind the USGA and R&A’s work to make the Rules easier to understand and apply.  A preview of the proposed changes will be released in March.  Also discussed was the new Local Rule for accidental movement of a ball on the putting green.
  • Technology and Golfer Engagement – With the USGA investing heavily in technology because of the need for reliable data that can be used both by the USGA and state and regional golf associations.
  • USGA Championship Vision – The segment featured highlights on the upcoming championship season as well as the philosophy behind USGA course set-up.

A renewed focus on golfers with disabilities was announced by USGA Executive Director Mike Davis. This will include a deeper investment into the modification to the Rules, equipment standards, helping facilities to become more welcoming – and sometime soon – a national championship for golfers with disabilities.  It was also announced that longtime PGA professional Bob Ford will receive the 2017 Bob Jones Award.

Other highlights from the day: