USGA Establishes U.S. Senior Women's Open Championship

14 championships on competition calendar, including four Opens, starting in 2018

The United States Golf Association (USGA) has announced the establishment of a new championship, the U.S. Senior Women’s Open Championship, which will debut in 2018.

The addition of the U.S. Senior Women’s Open increases the number of national championships conducted annually by the USGA to 14.

“We have studied and discussed the need for this championship for many years and now we can celebrate its introduction,” said USGA President Thomas J. O’Toole Jr. “The USGA has been leading and supporting women’s golf since 1895 and it has never been stronger. We hope that current and younger players will be inspired to see national championship competition long into their playing careers.”

The U.S. Senior Women’s Open is the third new championship added to the USGA schedule in the past two years. The U.S. Amateur Four-Ball and U.S. Women’s Amateur Four-Ball were announced in February 2013, with the inaugural championships to be contested in 2015.

“The necessary equation for success and long-term viability of this championship has gradually and finally come together,” said USGA Executive Director Mike Davis. “Even though we have not yet decided on a venue or an exact date for the inaugural championship, we wanted to celebrate its coming.

“We feel strongly that factors such as the international strength of the LPGA and the increasing number of age-eligible quality competitors from around the world, as well as the growth of women’s golf, are key to reaching this historic announcement. The number of entries in our women’s championships continues to grow. We hope this new championship will inspire both amateurs and professionals.”

The addition of the championship further illustrates the USGA’s continued commitment to supporting the needs of competitive golfers and promoting a welcoming and accessible game, as well as fostering its ongoing dialogue with the golf industry and its varied constituencies.

Eligibility for the U.S. Senior Women’s Open championship will be limited to professional and amateur female players, age 50 and older.

The championship format will mirror that of the U.S. Open: 72 holes of stroke play on four consecutive days with a cut after 36 holes. To mirror the other Open championships conducted by the USGA, the U.S. Senior Women’s Open will be a walking-only competition.

Field size and composition, playoff and other competitive format details of the inaugural U.S. Senior Women’s Open will be announced by the USGA at a later date.

USGA Championship Competition Roster:
U.S. Open Championship
U.S. Women’s Open Championship
U.S. Senior Open Championship
U.S. Amateur Championship
U.S. Women’s Amateur Championship
U.S. Junior Amateur Championship
U.S. Girls’ Junior Championship
U.S. Mid-Amateur Championship
U.S. Women’s Amateur Championship
U.S. Senior Amateur Championship
U.S. Senior Women’s Amateur Championship
U.S. Amateur Four-Ball Championship (begins in 2015)
U.S. Women’s Amateur Four-Ball Championship (begins in 2015)
U.S. Women’s Senior Open Championship (begins in 2018)