Whalen, McCullough, Carlson to represent WSGA at 2017 Morse Cup

Andrew Whalen of Ephrata, Wash., Drew McCullough of Richland, Wash., and Chase Carlson of Tacoma, Wash. will represent the Washington State Golf Association at this year’s Morse Cup team competition, which will take place simultaneously during the 51st Pacific Coast Amateur Championship held at Chambers Bay in University Place, Wash.

From L to R: Andrew Whalen, Drew McCullough and Chase Carlson

The 2017 Pacific Coast Amateur will be held July 18-21, with the Morse Cup taking place the first two days of the 72-hole competition. The best two of three scores from each team will count for the Morse Cup portion of the event.

Whalen is a recent graduate of Northwestern University, where he starred four years on the men’s golf team. Some of his recent accomplishments include a second-place finish in the 2016 Northwest Open and a fifth-place finish in the Rosauers Invitational, competing against the region’s professionals in both tournaments; runner-up in the 2016 PNGA Men’s Amateur; runner-up in the North & South Amateur; and a tie for 13th in the 2016 WSGA Men’s Amateur. He was named the WSGA Men’s Player of the Year in 2016.

McCullough is a rising senior at the University of Wyoming. He won the 2016 Seattle Amateur, and finished tied for second in the 2017 tournament, losing in a playoff. He won the 2017 Washington Open, playing against the region’s professionals. He was a semifinalist in the 2016 PNGA Men’s Amateur, and was the co-leader in the first round of last week’s Sahalee Players Championship.

Carlson is a rising sophomore at Colorado Christian University. He won the 2016 WSGA Men’s Amateur and was the runner-up at the 2017 RMAC Championship.

About the Pacific Coast Amateur Championship

The Pacific Coast Amateur Championship is one of the oldest and most prestigious amateur golf championships in North America. The first tournament was held on the links of San Francisco Golf Club at The Presidio in 1901. After being played until 1911, The Pacific Coast Amateur then ceased to exist, only to be reconstituted at Seattle Golf Club in 1967. Today, 15 member Pacific Rim golf associations comprise the Pacific Coast Golf Association.

Held on an annual basis since 1967, the Pacific Coast Amateur Championship boasts a rich history of showcasing some of the most talented golfers in the United States and Canada.

Past champions of the Pacific Coast Amateur who have gone on to successful professional careers include PGA Tour winners Billy Mayfair (1987, 1988), Jason Gore (1997) and Ben Crane (1998) as well as Web.com Tour winners and brothers Michael Putnam (2004) and Andrew Putnam (2010).

For more information on the championship, visit www.pacificcoastamateur.com. Spectators and media are welcome to attend with entrance being free of charge.

Media requests, please contact:

Christopher McGrath
Media and Recruiting Director

[email protected]


@pacificcoastam | #paccoast