WSWGA: Celebrating 100 years of golf and friendships

The Washington State Women’s Golf Association (WSWGA) is celebrating its centennial year in 2022.

One hundred years ago, a woman by the name of “Frank” Patterson decided that women golfers in Washington should be able to compete for the title of state champion. “Frank” lived in Grays Harbor, so in early 1922 she led the effort to have Grays Harbor Country Club play host to a statewide tournament for women amateur golfers. Besides the golf, social events would contribute to the importance of the week.

The inaugural championship was held in August 1922, and following the first day of competition the WSWGA was formed. It was the first association of its kind in the state (pre-dating by a month the WSGA, which was founded in September 1922), and it was designed solely for women and managed exclusively by women.

The inaugural Washington State Women’s Golf Association Championship was held in August 1922 at Grays Harbor Country Club. There were 46 competitors, each paying a $1 entry fee.

The winner of the first championship was, yes, “Frank” Patterson, playing on her home course. She was also elected as the fledgling association’s first president.

Since 1922, this organization has attracted some of the greatest women golfers in the Northwest and the U.S. Its list of past champions reads like a who’s who of top regional golfers, who have won major events around the world, including the U.S. Women’s Amateur and U.S. Senior Women’s Amateur. They’ve been NCAA champions, Curtis Cup team members, and winners of other prestigious national amateur events including the Women’s Western Amateur and Women’s Trans National Championship. Several have been inducted into the Pacific Northwest Golf Association Hall of Fame, and others have gone on to professional golf careers.

The medalist trophy given each year is named after Ann Swanson, a nine-time winner of the championship (and three-time winner of the Senior WSWGA title) and 2007 inductee into the PNGA Hall of Fame.

Charter members at Earlington G&CC in 1927.

The mission of the Washington State Women’s Golf Association is to promote the game of golf, competition, and camaraderie for women, of all skill levels, who are members of recognized clubs within the WSWGA.

The Washington State Women’s Golf Association was founded by these charter member clubs: Bellingham G&CC, Broadmoor Golf Club, Earlington G&CC, Everett G&CC, Grays Harbor CC, Inglewood Golf Club, Manito G&CC, Olympia C&GC, Seattle Golf Club, Spokane CC, Tacoma C&GC and Yakima CC.

2022 WSWGA Championship
July 11-13

Overlake Golf and Country Club

2022 WSWGA Senior Championship
September 12-13

Glendale Country Club

Visit for more information.