Siebers, Yanagi and Von Lossow selected for 2023 WA Golf Morse Cup Team

Ian Siebers of Bellevue, Wash., Pono Yanagi of Pullman, Wash. and Andrew Von Lossow of Spokane, Wash. were selected to represent Washington Golf at this year’s Morse Cup team competition, which takes place simultaneously with the 56th Pacific Coast Amateur Championship being held this week at Capilano Golf and Country Club in West Vancouver, B.C.

The 2023 Pacific Coast Amateur is being held July 25-28, with the Morse Cup competition taking place during the first two days of the 72-hole competition. There are 15 teams in the competition, one from each of the 15 golf associations that make up the Pacific Coast Golf Association. Two of the top three scores from each team in rounds one and two of the championship count for the Morse Cup portion of the event.

Meet the WA Golf Morse Cup Team

  • Ian Siebers of Bellevue, Wash.
    • Currently ranked No. 116 in WAGR
    • Made the Round of 16 at the 2023 North and South Amateur
    • Rising Senior on the Duke University men’s golf team
    • Won the Georgetown Intercollegiate and had two other top-12 finishes during his Junior season
  • Pono Yanagi of Pullman, Wash.
    • Currently ranked No. 345 in WAGR
    • Won the 2023 Washington Men’s Amateur
    • Rising senior on the Washington State University men’s golf team
    • Qualified for the 2023 U.S. Amateur
  • Andrew Von Lossow of Spokane, Wash.
    • Ranked No. 555 in WAGR
    • Reigning WA Golf Men’s and Men’s Mid-Am Player of the Year
    • Made the Round of 32 at the 2022 U.S. Amateur

The Pacific Coast Amateur is one of seven premier amateur championships that make up the Elite Amateur Golf Series (EAGS), in which players earn World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR) points and compete for the Elite Amateur Cup, with top finishers earning exemptions into USGA Championships, as well as PGA TOUR and Korn Ferry Tour events.

The Pacific Coast Amateur remains the West Coast’s elite-level event that is circled on all amateur golf calendars in North America. The championship has regularly received an “A” strength ranking by WAGR, as provided by the R&A and USGA.

About the Pacific Coast Amateur Championship

The Pacific Coast Amateur Championship is one of the oldest and most prestigious amateur golf championships in North America. The first championship was held on the links of San Francisco Golf Club at The Presidio in 1901. After being played until 1911, The Pacific Coast Amateur then ceased to exist, only to be reconstituted at Seattle Golf Club in 1967. Today, 15 member Pacific Rim golf associations comprise the Pacific Coast Golf Association.

Held on an annual basis since 1967, the Pacific Coast Amateur Championship boasts a rich history of showcasing some of the most talented golfers in the United States and Canada.

Past champions of the Pacific Coast Amateur who have gone on to successful professional careers include PGA Tour winners Billy Mayfair (1987, 1988), Jason Gore (1997) and Ben Crane (1998) as well as Tour winners and brothers Michael Putnam (2004) and Andrew Putnam (2010).

For more information on the championship, visit